Saturday, July 13, 2024

India vs Bangladesh 1st T20i: Mushfiqur Rahim Snatched Match from India in 1 Over

Under the three-match T20 series between India and Bangladesh, Bangladesh defeated India by seven wickets to take a 1-0 lead in the series in the first T20 match played at the Arun Jaitley Stadium in Delhi on Sunday. Bangladesh had a poor start chasing a 149-run target to win from the hosts, but Soumya Sarkar and Mushfiqur Rahim kept Bangladesh’s hopes alive after that, but despite that, the end of 17 overs took a turn towards India. Was seen bending.

From here, Bangladesh needed 35 runs in the last 3 overs to win. Expectations were still alive when Yuzvendra Chahal conceded 13 runs in the 18th over. 22 runs from 2 overs left from here. But in the very next over, former captain Mushfiqur Rahim sabotaged the hopes of all Indians and cleared the match story completely. When the leftist Mohammed Khalil Ahmed came, Mushfiqur Rahim planted four consecutive fours.

Millions of cricket lovers, including thousands deposited in Khalil and Arun Jaitley Stadium, kept holding the forehead after every fours, but Mushfiqur Rahim ensured victory by snatching the morsel from India. 4 runs in the last over and captain Mahmudullah hit his third ball of Shivam Dubey with three balls remaining and gave his team a resounding victory.

Power-Play: Bad start, but power remains intact!

Chasing 149 runs from India, Bangladesh had a poor start, when Litton Das Deepak Chah Ri returned to the pavilion in the first over by dodging on the slow-one, but after that the Indians bowled ahead of the bowlers for the next three overs i.e. fourth over Opener Mohammad Naeem and Soumya Sarkar did not allow Chahar and Sundar to get much freedom, but both the Bangladeshi batsmen made up for this void in the fifth and sixth overs. . Deepak’s throw went for 12 runs in the fifth over, while in the last over of the power-play, Washington gave up 13 runs. And at the end of the sixth over, Bangladesh scored 45 runs for 1 wicket. Naeem was on 25, then Sarkar on 12.

Wicket Fall: 8-1 (Litton, 0.5), 54-2 (Naeem, 7.5), 114-3 (Sarkar, 16.6)

Earlier, India set a target of 149 runs for victory in front of Bangladesh, which could prove difficult for the guests given this slow pitch. India did not get a good start in this match, but on this slow pitch Shikhar Dhawan (41) played a useful innings, then Shreyas Iyer (22) and Rishabh Pant (22) provided good support, but provided the finishing touch. Washington Sundar and Krunal Pandya. Both of these, especially Sundar, had a sharp style, which managed to reach 148 runs on the first six wickets.

Power-Play (starting 6 overs): That’s why Atishi Power did not show up!

Bangladeshi captain Mahmudullah’s decision to bowl first looked good at least in the power-play. The ball was coming to a halt, the bat was moving first. In between, the ball was coming up a little bit. Perhaps this was due to light grass on the pitch. Both opener Dhawan and Rohit landed on the field after a brief break in international cricket, so obviously it took some time to adjust. However, Rohit hit two fours in the first over of Shafiful, but his innings ended in the first over. If one wicket fell, Dhawan came a little past his feet. Their naturalness was missing on the home ground itself! It is all due to that after the first six overs, India’s score was 35 for 1 wicket. At this time Dhawan was on 11 and KL Rahul was on 15 runs.

Wicket Fall: 10-1 (Rohit, 0.6), 36-2 (Rahul, 6.3), 70-3 (Shreyas, 10.2), 95-4 (Dhawan, 14.5), 102-5 (Shivam, 15.6), 120- 6 (Rishabh, 18.2)

Earlier, Bangladesh won the toss and gave India the first batting feast. The good news is that there has been an improvement in the level of pollution and visibility. Let’s know what Arun Jaitley’s pitch is saying. And why Bangladeshi captain Mahmudullah decided to bowl first.

Pitch Report: This pitch of Arun Jaitley Stadium looks very strict. There are no cracks anywhere in the pitch, nor is there dryness in this pitch. However, a little grass is definitely visible. In such a situation, the ball will come well on the bat right from the beginning. The spinners do not expect much help from the pitch. At the same time, Bangladeshi captain Mahmudullah said that help is being seen on the wicket. And he wants to restrict India to the least score. That is why he decided to bowl first. We told the pitch report. Now look at the final XI of both countries as well: –

Bangladesh: Mahmudullah (captain), Linton Das, Soumya Sarkar, Mohammad Naeem, Mushfiqur Rahim (wicketkeeper), Afif Hussain, Mosadek Hussain, Aminul Islam, Shafiful Islam, Mustafzur Rahman and Al-Amin Hussain

India: Rohit Sharma (captain), Shikhar Dhawan, Lokesh Rahul, Shreyas Iyer, Rishabh Pant (wicketkeeper), Krunal Pandya, Shivam Dubey, Washiganton Sundar, Yuzvendra Chahal, Deepak Chahar and Khalil Ahmed

Teodora Torrendo
Teodora Torrendo
Teodora Torrendo is an investigative journalist and is a correspondent for European Union. She is based in Zurich in Switzerland and her field of work include covering human rights violations which take place in the various countries in and outside Europe. She also reports about the political situation in European Union. She has worked with some reputed companies in Europe and is currently contributing to USA News as a freelance journalist. As someone who has a Masters’ degree in Human Rights she also delivers lectures on Intercultural Management to students of Human Rights. She is also an authority on the Arab world politics and their diversity.

Related Articles